Call for applications and nominations UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2018

5 June 2018

UNESCO is calling for applications and nominations for the 2018 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes, which this year will award outstanding programmes and individuals who promote literacy around the world within the theme of Literacy and Skills Development.

Since 1967, the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have rewarded excellence and innovation in the field of literacy. Over 485 projects and programmes undertaken by governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals around the world have already received recognition and support for their excellent work.

Through two prestigious Prizes, UNESCO supports effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literate societies to close the literacy gap of approximately 750 millions of people.

UNESCO distinguishes between two Literacy Prizes which are given to five laureates:

The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (2 awards), was established in 1989 and is supported by the Government of the Republic of Korea. It gives special consideration to programmes that focus on the development and use of mother-tongue literacy education and training.

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards), was established in 2005, and is supported by the Government of the Peoples Republic of China. This Prize recognizes programmes that promote adult literacy, especially in rural areas and for out-of-school youth, particularly girls and women.

Each of the prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma and US$20.000.

Who can apply and who can nominate?

Governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals are kindly invited to apply. All applications should be submitted to nominating entities, such as the National Commission for UNESCO in the country of the programme, or an NGO that is in an official partnership with UNESCO. Applications can be submitted via the online platform, detailed information about the application and nomination process is to be found on the UNESCO Literacy Prizes website.

All programmes and projects must meet the selection criteria in order to be taken into consideration.

Concerned governments of UNESCO Member States and non-governmental organizations (NGOs) in official partnership with UNESCO are encouraged to take into account individuals, institutions and organizations who have made outstanding contributions to the promotion of literacy and requested a nomination.

The deadline for submitting applications for nominations: 5 June 2018 (midnight, Paris time).

The deadline for nominating entities to submit their nominations to UNESCO: 17 June 2018 (midnight, Paris time).

The nominations will be assessed by an independent International Jury, composed of six experts on the basis of the selection criteria. Based on the recommendations of the International Jury, the Director-General of UNESCO will be select the finalists to award the Prizes on 7 September 2018 at the occasion of International Literacy Day.

Find out more information on the Prizes website.

Contact: (link sends e-mail)

Follow us on social media: @UNESCO #LiteracyDay
education transforms lives

Permanent link: